Main Menu

2024 Faculty Award Winners


We are proud of the overall dedication of all of our faculty who excel in all that they do each semester to provide quality education to our students, both in and out of the classroom. In addition, faculty at Shepherd University are recognized each year for their scholarship outcomes in their field, as well as special University awards for teaching, service, advising, and scholarship. For our adjuncts we specifically recognize contributions to teaching and service. We also recognize the recipients for the Douglas C. Smith Graduate Faculty Award, the Storer College Faculty Award, the Mentzer Award for Inspirational Teaching, and any of our faculty who are recognized as finalists or winners for the West Virginia Professor of the Year. Collectively these awards celebrate the excellence of our faculty at the undergraduate and graduate levels.

Outstanding Faculty – Advising

Dr. Jason Allen, Assistant Professor of Education

Outstanding Faculty – Teaching

Dr. Haley Albright, Assistant Professor of Chemistry

Outstanding Faculty – Service

Dr. Sytil Murphy, Associate Professor of Physics

Outstanding Faculty – Scholarship

Dr. Jacquelyn Cole, Associate Professor of Chemistry

Douglas C. Smith Graduate Faculty Award

Dr. Benjamin Bankhurst, Associate Professor of History

Storer College Award

Dr. Betty Ellzey, Professor of English

Mentzer Award for Inspirational Teaching

Dr. Sylvia Shurbutt, Professor of English

Adjunct Faculty – Commitment to Community

Dr. Jenny Flora, Business Administration

Adjunct Faculty – Instruction

Michael Mendez, Contemporary Art, Communication, & Theater

West Virginia Professor of  the Year – Finalist

Dr. Jim Broomall, Associate Professor of History