Main Menu

Storer College Faculty Award

2024 Storer College Faculty Award

Dr. Betty Ellzey, Professor of Education

Diversity and Equity Committee sponsors the Storer College Faculty Award, which recognizes a member of Shepherd’s faculty each year who incorporates diversity and social justice into the classroom, research, scholarship, and interaction with students.  The award highlights the significance of Storer College’s commitment to educating students of color in the Eastern Panhandle.

The winner is selected by the Storer College Award Committee and receives a $500 stipend to be used toward professional development. Each recipient is recognized on a perpetual plaque located in the Storer Ballroom.

Storer Faculty Award Recipients

2024 Dr. Betty Ellzey Professor, English
2023 Prof. kb saine Assistant Professor, Theater
2022 Dr. Julia Sandy Associate Professor, History
2021 Dr. Janine Sam Assistant Professor, Business Administration
2020 Dr. Ann Wendle Clinical Assistant Professor and Program Coordinator, College Student Development & Administration
2019 Dr. Eva-Maria Suarez-Budenbender Associate Professor, Spanish
2018 Dr. Dawn Raines Burke Professor, Education
2017 Dr. Heidi Hanrahan Associate Professor, English
2016 Dr. Richard Stevens Associate Professor and Program Coordinator, College Student Development & Administration
2015 Dr. Chiquita Howard-Bostic Associate Professor, Sociology and Chair, Sociology and Geography

Storer Scholarship for Shepherd Students

Shepherd University is committed to preserving the aspirations of Storer College graduates. Shepherd’s Foundation provides an opportunity for students to apply for a Storer College Scholarship, an endowment created by George King II, an alumnus of Storer College.