Main Menu

2023 Oliver S. Ikenberry Award

Dr. Oliver S. Ikenberry served as President of Shepherd College for 21 years, from 1947-1968. These were years of expansion for all American higher education and important formative years for Shepherd College as well. President and Mrs. Ikenberry were actively engaged with students, faculty, staff, and alumni and intimately involved with the community of Shepherdstown. This award is designated for one male and one female for exemplary human service to Shepherd University as evidenced by campus leadership, community service, and overall achievement.

Congratulations to the 2023 winners 

Charlotte Puttock

“Charlotte is the perfect example of what the Oliver S. Ikenberry Award represents. She acts in a selfless manner, willing to stop whatever she’s doing in order to mentor younger students or to lend a hand to faculty. To that end, she has served as a studio lab assistant in the art department for the last three years and multiple faculty across our department have benefited greatly from her contributions. She has organized, created, and led many extracurricular activities for art students and community members through the Visual Arts collective, including community figure drawing nights, public exhibitions, and social events. Additionally, she organized a Girl Scout art event off campus, has helped with many public art exhibits both on campus and in Shepherdstown, and she’s part of the team that will create public murals for the Agricultural Center at Tabler Farm (donating weeks of design and painting labor for free). She’s served as an art editor (currently the senior art editor) for the Sans Merci Art & Literary Magazine for multiple years, having worked with dozens of students on getting their art published and recognized in a public exhibition each year. She dedicates so much of her personal time to make these events happen and her enthusiasm is recognized as she inspires other art students to get involved as well – serving as leaders and volunteers themselves! In this way, her legacy as a Shepherd student willing to serve her community will continue after she has graduated.”

Charlotte was nominated by Ally Christmas.

William Prudnick

“William has grown so much in his four years at Shepherd University and is always involved in everything he can which includes being on Student Government Association for the last four years, President of the service fraternity Alpha Phi Omega, and Rude Mechanics. He is never afraid to lend a helping hand and constantly tries to brighten up your day if he sees you feeling down.”

“It is with great enthusiasm that I offer my highest recommendation for William as a candidate for the 2023 Ikenberry Award. I have known William since he arrived at Shepherd University as a first year student to participate in our Emerging Leaders in Service leadership program nearly four years ago. Since that time, I can attest to the growth I have seen in him as a leader. As a scholar, Will is exceptional. He asks all the right critical questions and makes connections between disciplines and topics in ways that help enhance everyone’s learning. He is actively engaged, always prepared, and has strong written and verbal communications skills. Over the past four years Will has embraced every opportunity presented to him to continue to push himself to grow. He has completed hundreds of hours of community service and led our campus’s first bone marrow donor drive as well as volunteered in our surrounding community. He has enthusiastically invested in his personal growth by attending multiple student leadership conferences, serving as a peer leader for advanced Engaged Leaders in Action program, and completing Shepherd’s Leadership for a Better World certificate program. For the past two years he has served as Chairperson of our campus Student Life Council as well as the Student Government Association Treasurer, acted as a Homecoming co-chair, and served on multiple University committees while also conducting scientific research, performing in Shakespeare plays, and fully engaging in his academic work. Will’s profound impact on his peers and our institution make me believe that he is most deserving of this award.”

William was nominated by his peer, Susan Harris, and the Director of Student Activities and Fraternity and Sorority Life, Rachael Meads.

2023 Nominees

Susan Harris nominated by William Prudnick
Zahra Alegili nominated by Grace Summerbell
Maya Garcia nominated by Sullivan Steele
Robert Harsh nominated by Dorian Hemerick
Chloe Bailey nominated by Matthew Kushin
Boluwatife Dogari nominated by Fatou Conteh
Fatour Conteh nominated by Boluwatife Dogari
Chloe Bailey nominated by Cindy Powers

Return to Student Recognition Awards