Main Menu

Students inducted as McMurran Scholars in virtual ceremony

ISSUED: 24 April 2020
MEDIA CONTACT: Valerie Owens

SHEPHERDSTOWN, WV — Shepherd University inducted 46 students from 13 different majors into its most exclusive honor society during a virtual ceremony. McMurran Scholar is the highest academic honor awarded at Shepherd. Criteria includes maintaining a minimum 3.86 quality point average and being nominated by a minimum of three faculty members and approved by the faculty at large.

Shepherd faculty created the award of McMurran Scholar in 1961. It is named for Joseph McMurran, Shepherd College principal from 1872-1882, who always regarded his role in establishing Shepherd as the most important achievement of his life.

Inductees from the College of Arts, Humanities, and Social Sciences include Bachelor of Fine Arts majors Molly Henry, Martinsburg, and Alizah Lathrop and Skyla Heise, both of Hagerstown, Maryland; English majors Fiona Tracey, Shepherdstown, Linnea Meyer, Harpers Ferry, and Bethany Kaetzel, Hedgesville; history majors Allison Brashears, Hagerstown, Maryland, and Paul Coblentz, Middletown, Maryland; Bachelor of Music in Performance majors Sophie Palmer, Shepherdstown, Korinne Myers, Martinsburg, and Megan Malone, North East, Maryland; psychology major Connor Skillman, Leesburg, Virginia; and social work majors Raina Edwards, Inwood, and Hannah Warner, Circleville.

College of Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics inductees include biology majors Alexis Fritts, Inwood, Michael Watcher, Martinsburg, and Ashlee Leshinski, Frederick, Maryland; chemistry majors Makaila Emery, Martinsburg, Amy Filip, Falling Waters, and Elizabeth George, Hedgesville; computer information technology major Portia Dobrzanski, Hagerstown Maryland; computer and information science majors Steven Griffin, Berkeley Springs, and Alexander Nguyen, Hagerstown, Maryland; data analytics major Makarie Myers, Martinsburg; math majors Heidi Reichert, Charles Town, and Brian Crutchley, Annapolis, Maryland; and environmental science majors Alyssa Murray, Harpers Ferry, Caitlin Barnes, Buckeye, Daniel Speck, Knoxville, Maryland, and Jennifer Willett, Silver Spring, Maryland.

College of Business inductees are business administration majors Richard Robinson, Mathias, and Tiffany Warnick, Grantsville, Maryland.

Inductees from the College of Nursing, Education, and Health Sciences include secondary education majors Christopher Parker, Martinsburg, Virginia Robbins, Hedgesville, Jay Minnick, Sharpsburg, Maryland, Emma Bernardoni, Walkersville, Maryland, and Jillian Barr, Greencastle, Pennsylvania; elementary education majors Mariah Baihly, Harpers Ferry, Rachel Stottlemyer, Martinsburg, Jennifer Drummond, Gerrardstown, Bethany Starliper, Sharpsburg, Maryland, and Allyson Spaid, Smithsburg, Maryland; health promotion and exercise science majors Ashley Burger, Hedgesville, Carlee Gagliardo, Capon Bridge, and Katherine Eddy, Charleston; and family and consumer science major Andrea Ewers, Berkeley Springs.

To view the virtual ceremony, visit For more information about McMurran Scholars and to view the program, visit

— 30 —