Main Menu

Foundation announces faculty excellence recipients for 2021-22 academic year

ISSUED: 7 October 2022

SHEPHERDSTOWN, WV — The Shepherd University Foundation provided more than $25,000 through endowed faculty excellence funds during the 2021-22 academic year. These faculty excellence awards spanned six recipients in six departments across campus.

Faculty excellence endowments help further professional development by covering costs such as travel, conference registration fees, and reimbursement for supplies. Additionally, Shepherd’s four endowed chairs—the Edward L. Snyder Endowed Chair for Business, the Ray & Madeline Johnston American History Chair Endowment, the John T. Reynolds Endowed Chair in Chemistry, and the George Washington Chair of Ethics—provide funds which enable Shepherd to attract, recognize, and retain exceptional scholars and academic leaders.

The 2021-22 faculty excellence recipients were:

In addition, Dr. Chiquita Howard-Bostic was awarded the Mentzer Award for Inspirational Teaching in spring 2022. The $1,000 annual Mentzer Award is given to a full-time professor in recognition of having profound impact on his/her students.

The University’s success in advancing breakthrough research and developing the next generation of leaders depends on recruiting, retaining, and advancing great faculty through faculty excellence endowments like the ones named above.

To learn more about donating to an existing or creating a new faculty excellence fund, visit  or contact Sherri Janelle, executive director of development, at 304-876-5043 or

— 30 —