Main Menu

Phi Beta Delta Honor Society inducts 17

ISSUED: 16 September 2020
MEDIA CONTACT: Valerie Owens

SHEPHERDSTOWN, WV — The Phi Beta Delta Honor Society for International Scholars at Shepherd University inducted eight students, five faculty members, and four staff members into its Theta Epsilon Chapter during a virtual ceremony September 15. Jo Hindriks, operation specialist at the World Bank, was the keynote speaker.

Student inductees were global studies majors Madison Hale, Martinsburg, Savannah Maguire, Paw Paw, Noelle Kesner, Keyser, Emily Oliver, Martinsburg, and Peter Proctor, Huntington; business administration majors Ju Seng Nsang, Myanmar, and Abdoul Nasser, Niger; and political science major Kenrick Pluck, Hedgesville.

Faculty inducted include Dr. Samuel Greene, assistant professor of political science; Dr. Jennifer Penland, director, School of Education; Dr. Max Guirguis, professor of political science, chair, Department of Political Science, Global Studies, and Geography; Dr. Geri Crawley-Woods, professor emerita of social work; and Dr. Momodou Darboe, professor emeritus of sociology.

Staff members inducted were Dr. Evora Baker, assistant director, Upward Bound; Joselin Fuentes, academic coordinator, Upward Bound; Sharon Carpenter, administrative assistant, College of Arts, Humanities, and Social Sciences; and alumnus Konrad Turnbull, former admissions officer assisting with international students.

Phi Beta Delta is dedicated to recognizing scholarly achievement in international education, promoting the international experience, and supporting academically based international programming. The coordinator of the Theta Epsilon Chapter is Dr. Ann Marie Legreid, associate dean, College of Arts, Humanities, and Social Sciences, who is a member of the organization’s national board.

— 30 —