Main Menu

New honor society for international scholars chapter inducts first members

ISSUED: 11 April 2016
MEDIA CONTACT: Valerie Owens

SHEPHERDSTOWN, WV — Shepherd University now boasts a chapter of the honor society for international scholars, Phi Beta Delta. The Theta Epsilon Chapter had its founding induction ceremony and reception on April 5 in the Student Center Cumberland Room. This is the first chapter in West Virginia and one of 180 chapters around the world.

The keynote speaker was Dr. Joy Stevenson, the organization’s current director of membership and former president. Stevenson led the induction ceremony and presented medallions to eight students, three staff members, and six faculty members. Phi Beta Delta was started in 1986 at California State University, Long Beach. The organization recognizes and promotes scholarly achievement in international education.

“A chapter of Phi Beta Delta is an exciting and valuable addition to our campus, in that the honor society offers scholarships, conferences, and publication opportunities for its members,” said Dr. Ann Marie Legreid, dean of the School of Business and Social Sciences. “Memberships are lifetime. This chapter will add momentum to the internationalization of the Shepherd campus, a strategic priority, and build further linkages to the community through its sponsored activities and community memberships. Without a doubt, it is consistent with Shepherd’s mission as a ‘gateway to the world of opportunities and ideas.’”

Student members of Shepherd’s new chapter are Balkis Azzez, Tunisia; Margaret Bock and Roosevelt Boh, both of Hedgesville; Diene Faye, Silver Spring, Maryland; Alyson Hehr, Wheeling; Khadija Ali Kazmi, Pakistan; Nicholas Pappas, Mount Airy, Maryland; and Musa Suwareh, The Gambia.

Staff members are Elizabeth Cauvel, study abroad program coordinator; Holly Morgan Frye, acting vice president for student affairs; and Dr. Charles Nieman, director of international initiatives.

Faculty members include Dr. Denis Berenschot, associate professor of Spanish; Dr. Sally Brasher, associate professor of history; Dr. Dawne R. Burke, professor of education; Dr. Arend “Aart” Holtslag, assistant professor of political science; Dr. Linda Kinney, associate professor of economics; and Legreid, who serves as the campus coordinator for the chapter.

— 30 —