Main Menu

Graduate students and faculty honored during annual awards banquet

ISSUED: 21 May 2015
MEDIA CONTACT: Valerie Owens

SHEPHERDSTOWN, WV — Shepherd University’s Division of Graduate Studies honored four students and two faculty members during its 7th annual awards banquet May 7.

The student honorees were Kenneth Goldsborough, Distinguished Graduate Student of Scholarship Award; Hathiyea Chea, Distinguished Graduate Student of Professionalism Award; and Chelsey A. Barrett and Joanna Martinez, Distinguished Graduate Student of Professionalism, Case Study Award, a new award designed to recognize the importance of case studies in the business and education programs.

Student award winners were nominated and selected from more than 225 graduate students from each of the five degree programs: master of arts in teaching, master of arts in college student development and administration, master of arts in curriculum and instruction, master of business administration, and master of music in music education. The awards were determined through an application process that was judged on pre-determined criteria and was reviewed by a panel of faculty and staff members.

Goldsborough and Chea each received $300 awards, plaques, and an award medallion to wear with commencement regalia. Their names were placed on the perpetual award plaque housed at the graduate studies office. Martinez and Barrett split a $300 award and received the same academic recognitions.

Finalists for the Distinguished Graduate Student of Scholarship Award were Ryan Lapina-Carriger, Cheryl Crawford, Kenneth Goldsborough, S. Joanna Martinez, and Rachael McLoud. The finalists for the Distinguished Graduate Student of Professionalism were Chelsey A. Barrett, Hathiya Chea, and Shelly Compton.  The finalists for the Graduate Student of Professionalism, Case Study Award award were Chelsey A. Barrett, Courtney Kackley, Beth Manzuk, S. Joanna Martinez, and Angela Mills.

Faculty awards winners included Dr. Lana Leggett, affiliate M.B.A. graduate faculty, receiving the Distinguished Affiliate Graduate Faculty Award, and Dr. Dawne Raines Burke, professor of education, Douglas C. Smith Distinguished Graduate Faculty Award.

Leggett was honored for her work in the classroom, on special research projects, and for initiatives with the graduate business program.  She received a plaque, medallion, gift card, and her name was placed on a perpetual award plaque.

Burke has taught courses in both the M.A.T. and the M.A. in curriculum and instruction programs since their inception. In addition to her excellent teaching evaluations, Burke has been published in several publications and made conference presentations. She has also actively engaged her graduate teacher education students in presenting their research at professional conferences. Burke received a $500 professional development award, a plaque, a medallion to wear with commencement regalia, and her name was placed on the perpetual award plaque.

The keynote speaker for the event was Rod Snyder of Shenandoah Junction, who currently serves as president of Field to Market: The Alliance for Sustainable Agriculture, a nonprofit organization in Washington, D.C., that promotes sustainable agriculture. Dr. Suzanne Shipley, Shepherd University president, gave opening remarks, and, Dr. Scott Beard, dean of graduate studies and continuing education, presided over the event.

— 30 —