Health Check FORM • COVID-19 INFO
Main Menu

2020-2021 faculty award winners announced

ISSUED: 3 May 2021
MEDIA CONTACT: Valerie Owens

SHEPHERDSTOWN, WV — Shepherd University is honoring its outstanding faculty for the 2020-2021 academic year, announcing awards online at the 2021 Faculty Award Winners webpage.

Dr. Samuel Greene, assistant professor of political science, is this year’s recipient of the Mentzer Award for Inspirational Teaching. The award was established by alumna Susan Mentzer-Blair and her husband, William “Bill” Blair, who are both retired educators. The $1,000 award goes to a full-time professor recognized for being particularly inspiring and having a profound effect on Shepherd students.

Dr. Janine Sam, assistant professor of business administration, won this year’s Storer College Faculty Award, which recognizes a member of the faculty who incorporates diversity and social justice into the classroom, research, scholarship, and interaction with students. The Storer College Award Committee selects the winner, who receives a $500 stipend to be used toward professional development and is recognized on a perpetual plaque in the Storer Ballroom.

Other awards given this year went to Dr. Kelly Watson-Huffer, associate professor of nursing education, Douglas C. Smith Graduate Faculty Award; Dr. Dori Hargrove, assistant professor of education, Outstanding Faculty Award for Advising; Dr. Lindsey Levitan, associate professor of psychology, Outstanding Faculty Award for Teaching; Dr. LeAnn Johnson, associate professor of education, Outstanding Faculty Award for Service; and Dr. Chiquita Howard-Bostic, associate professor of sociology, criminology, and criminal justice, Outstanding Faculty Award for Scholarship.

Shepherd also added two categories to honor adjunct faculty members. Joshua Vance, adjunct faculty of environmental and physical sciences, won the Adjunct Faculty Award for Instruction, and Rachael Meads, adjunct faculty of Appalachian studies, earned the Adjunct Faculty Award for Commitment to Community.

The recipients receive a professional development stipend and will have their names added to plaques displayed on campus.

— 30 —