Main Menu

Homecoming celebrated with a variety of events

Alumni returned to campus on Saturday, September 29 for a variety of Homecoming festivities. The day began with the annual alumni breakfast on the front lawn of McMurran Hall, hosted by the Shepherd University Alumni Association and the Shepherd University Foundation, followed by the Homecoming Parade on German Street. The Rams defeated Concord 61-21 at Ram Stadium.

Events on Friday, September 28 included a luncheon for faculty and staff retirees who hold the emeritus/emerita designation. At 3 p.m., participants in the annual Founders Day procession stepped off from McMurran Hall and marched to Potomac Place for a program that featured President Mary J.C. Hendrix ’74, Student Government Association President Danielle Stephenson, and Alumna of the Year Francine Phillips ’82. At 5:30 p.m., the first annual College of Business Reunion Dinner attracted more than 60 business alumni and friends. At 7 p.m., the Shepherd University Athletic Club launch party was held at the Smallwood and Small Pavilion at Ram Stadium.

The 2018-19 Outstanding Alumna of the Year Francine Phillips ’82 was recognized at a reception on Thursday, September 27, along with the inaugural class of Finest Under 40 alumni honorees Jennifer Seely Flora ’06 and ’08 M.B.A., Shepherd’s director of student engagement; Tamia Hardy ’16 and ’17 M.B.A., the 2017 Miss West Virginia; Brandon Dennison ’08, founder of Coalfield Development Corporation; and Liz McCormick ’14, Eastern Panhandle reporter/producer for West Virginia Public Broadcasting.

Retirees attending the luncheon on September 28 were (l. to r.) Brenda Branson-Johnson, Nan Snyder ’90, Ann Henriksson, Melinda Landolt ’75, Mary Grissinger, Dr. Richard Latterell, Joan Pope ’73, Anne Kerfoot ’66, Dr. Charlotte Anderson, Patt Welsh, and Larry Dowdy, back row, Dr. Jim Lewin, Harry Young, Dr. John Landolt, Dr. Roland Bergman, Ed Fincham, Gayle Conner ’75, Dr. Mike Jacobs, Rhonda Smith, Dr. Jerry Smith, Dr. Anders Henriksson, Karl Wolf ’70, Dr. Rick Gibson, and Dr. Gordon DeMeritt.

Pictured above (l. to r.) are Alumni Association President Jim Auxer ’69, Finest Under Forty honoree Tamia Hardy ’16 and ’17 M.B.A., Outstanding Alumna of the Year Francine Phillips ’82, Finest Under Forty honoree Jennifer Seeley Flora ’06 and ’08 M.B.A., and President Mary J.C. Hendrix ’74.