Main Menu

Students, professor honored during annual Student Recognition Day

ISSUED: 2 May 2017
MEDIA CONTACT: Valerie Owens

SHEPHERDSTOWN, WV — Shepherd University recognized numerous students from across campus in the areas of academics, leadership, and community service during the 69th annual Student Recognition Day April 18.

The Dr. Oliver S. Ikenberry Award for Human Service was presented to graduating seniors Lisa Butler, Charles Town, and Andrew Potts, Falling Waters. The $250 cash award is given in honor of Dr. Oliver S. Ikenberry, who served as Shepherd’s president from 1947-1968, to one female and one male student for “exemplary human service to Shepherd as evidenced by campus leadership, community service, and overall achievement.”

Brean Rotruck, Charles Town, received the Lowe Family Award for outstanding service to the university and high academic achievement. Funded by the Lowe family of Shepherdstown, the award honors a student based on outstanding service to the university as well as high academic achievement. A tree is planted on campus in honor of the recipient.

Dr. Tim Nixon, associate professor of English, received the first-ever Mentzer Award for Inspirational Teaching (MAIT), which gives a $1,000 award to a full-time professor recognized for being particularly inspiring and having a profound effect on his or her students. Student Allexandra Benedict nominated Nixon. Alumna Susan Mentzer-Blair and her husband William “Bill” Blair created MAIT in memory of Mentzer-Blair’s brother, a former college professor. All Shepherd students were invited to nominate a professor for the award. A student committee reviewed each nomination and selected the recipient.


For a complete list of students honored during Student Recognition Day, please click HERE.

— 30 —