Main Menu

Outstanding faculty members honored at recognition ceremony

ISSUED: 3 May 2018
MEDIA CONTACT: Valerie Owens

SHEPHERDSTOWN, WV — Members of Shepherd University’s faculty were recognized for their hard work during the first annual Faculty Awards and Recognition Ceremony on April 30. Ninety faculty members received certificates for scholarly work and five were presented awards for putting in extra effort in several areas.

The Outstanding Service Award to a faculty member who shows exceptional dedication to the value of learning through service and creative outreach initiatives on campus and throughout the community was presented to Dr. Heidi Hanrahan, associate professor of English. Christian Benefiel, associate professor of art, was given the Outstanding Scholar Award, which goes to a faculty member who displays exemplary commitment to scholarly pursuits such as research publications, presentations, grants, and creative activities.

The Outstanding Advisor Award for a faculty member whose work demonstrates that advisee retention and success are linked directly to advisor support, guidance, and exemplary knowledge of campus resources, went to Dr. Laura Robertson, assistant professor of biology. Dr. Jonathan Gilkerson, assistant professor of biology, received the Outstanding Teacher Award for a faculty member who shows a willingness to explore new teaching and learning initiatives, has strong student support as evidenced by evaluation critiques, and embodies excellence in all aspects of the profession.

The Douglas C. Smith Distinguished Graduate Faculty Award for a faculty member who has made significant contributions to the graduate culture at Shepherd based on teaching evaluations, professional development, and service to the institution, profession, and community went to Dr. Michael Groves, associate professor of nursing education.

— 30 —