Main Menu

Music students to present concerts April 18 and 19

ISSUED: 15 April 2016
MEDIA CONTACT: Valerie Owens

SHEPHERDSTOWN, WV — The Shepherd University Department of Music will present two concerts on Monday, April 18, and Tuesday, April 19, featuring student performers that are free and open to the public.

The Monday concert begins at 3:15 p.m. in the Frank Center McCoy Rehearsal Hall and will feature the work of student composers from the Department of Music, including Anthony Farris, New Creek; Nemo Hirschberg, Front Royal, Virginia; Allison Hollis and Samantha Vaughn, both of Frederick, Maryland; and James Townsend, Romney.

Works include a piece for saxophone quartet titled “A Phrygian Chorale” by Samantha Vaughn; “Moaning at the Ides of the Tenth Months,” a saxophone duet by Anthony Farris; “Sketches, Book 1 (2014)” by James Townsend, a piano solo to be performed by Dr. Yu-Hsuan Liao; “Nautilus” for electronic media by Allison Hollis; “Found Object Sonata,” a piano solo by Anthony Farris performed by James Townsend; “Nature’s Demise” by Nemo HIrschberg; and “At the Deathbed of Sweet William Green for Wind Ensemble” by Anthony Farris.

A concert featuring the best of the department’s small ensembles will take place on Tuesday, April 19, at 8 p.m. in the Frank Center W. H. Shipley Recital Hall. The evening will highlight performances of a saxophone quartet, piano duet, brass quintet, flute septet, guitar duo, trio, Kodály-Orff Ensemble, and a voice quintet. The performance is free and open to the public.

The program will include a guitar duo of David Browne and Andrew Oswinkle performing “Sonatina Canonica, Op. 196” by Mario Castelnuovo-Tedesco; piano duet of Lucas Peterson and Matthew Jefferson playing Antonín Dvořák’s “Slavonic Dance, Op. 46, No. 1”; and flute septet featuring Rachael Termohlen, Christi Dean, Rachel Grizzle, Shania Isenberg, Kia Jones, Melissa McKay and Kathleen Houle, playing “Cori Spezzati Variazioni” by Masamicz Amano and “A Western Suite” by Christopher Caliendo.

The Shepherd University Kodály-Orff Ensemble, under the direction of Dr. David Gonzol, will make its debut with performances that include works by Zoltán Kodály, Erstes Spiel, and Guild Keetman. Ensemble members are Jennifer Forbes, Ellen Grimsley, Kathleen Houle, Ashleigh Stottlemyer, Ilynn Brennan, and Adrielle Mills.

A brass quintet with Devin Torbidoni and Faith Kirschling on trumpet, Ashleigh Stottlemyer on horn, Kevin Grega on trombone, and Anthony Makusky on tuba, will play “Florentiner March” by Julius Fucik, and “English Folk Song Suite” by Ralph Vaughan Williams. A saxophone quartet featuring Chase Remsburg on soprano saxophone, Jordan Shifflett on alto saxophone, Samantha Vaughn on tenor saxophone, and William Singley on baritone saxophone, will play “Introduction et Scherzo” by Robert Clérisse and “Ulla in Africa” by Heiner Wiberny.

A voice quintet comprised of Matthew Gray, Simone Reynolds, Sam Bower, Nemo Hirschberg, and Grace Guiney will perform “Ecco mormorar l’onde” by Claudio Monteverdi. A guitar trio featuring David Browne, Emily Del Vecchio, and Andrew Oswinkle, will perform “Introduction et Danse du Corregidor” by Manuel de Falla and “Rondo für Drei Gitarren” by Paul Hindemith.

For more information, call 304-876-5555 or visit

— 30 —