Main Menu

Music department presents small ensemble concert April 21

ISSUED: 16 April 2015
MEDIA CONTACT: Valerie Owens

SHEPHERDSTOWN, WV — The Shepherd University Department of Music will present a concert featuring the best of the department’s small ensembles on Tuesday, April 21 at 8 p.m. in the Frank Center’s W. H. Shipley Recital Hall. The evening will highlight performances of a guitar quartet, recorder duo, flute sextet, flute nonet, string trio, clarinet quartet, saxophone quartet, jazz combo, and work for viola, bassoon, piano and percussion.

“Grises y Soles” by Máximo Diego Pujol and “Dos piezas caballerescas” by Joaquín Rodrigo will be performed by the guitar quartet of David Browne, Andrew Oswinkle, Tom Collins, and Dakota Slay-Vincent.

“Les chérubins ou l’aimable” by François Couperin and “Sonata No. II” by Johann Christian Schickhardt will be performed by the recorder duet of Ryan McClure and Walker Williams.

“Madrigals” by Samuel Adler will be performed by the flute sextet of Melissa McKay, Kia Jones, Rachael Termohlen, Kathleen Houle, Christi Dean, and Christy Kulha.

“Norwegian Dance No. II, Op. 35” by Edvard Grieg will be performed by the flute nonet of Kia Jones, Kathleen Houle, Christi Dean, Rachael Termohlen, Kayla Starr, Rachel Grizzle, Christy Kulha, and Melissa McKay.

“Variations on a Theme by Sweelinck” by Ramon Ricker and “Trois Pieces” by Isaac Albeniz will be performed by the saxophone quartet of Will Lopez, Chase Remsburg, Rachel Brown, and Will Singley.

“3 Tangos for Clarinet Quartet” by Astor Piazzolla and “Perpetuum Mobile” by Johann Strauss II will be performed by clarinetists Sarah Ciaccio, Taylor Kirschling, Graham Blair, and Michelle Shockey.

“Terzetto” by Antonin Dvořák will be played by the string trio of Adrielle Mills on viola and Ryan Stewart and Ian Karraker on violin.

“Liquorice Valley: A Game of Chemical Spills” by Patrick Harper will be performed by violist Adrielle Mills, bassoonist Ryan McClure, pianist Mary Granofsky, and percussionist Zach Janiak.

“What’s New” by Bob Haggart and “Yes and No” by Wayne Shorter will be performed by the jazz combo of Alvaro Silva, on trumpet, Mary Granofsky, on piano, Dan Dunn, on bass, and Sawyer Gaydon, on drumset with  Jordan Bushong-Taylor, singing.

The concert is free and open to the public. For more information, call 304-876-5555 or visit

— 30 —