Main Menu

Foundation welcomes new members at annual Joseph P. McMurran Society dinner

ISSUED: 12 May 2022

SHEPHERDSTOWN, WV — The Shepherd University Foundation welcomed the return of the annual Joseph P. McMurran Society and President’s Award dinner on April 30. Hosted by Shepherd President Mary J.C. Hendrix and sponsored by the Shepherd University Foundation, the event brings together Society members and their guests, along with Shepherd faculty and administrators, to honor those who have chosen to share their lifelong financial achievements with the University through estate and other planned gifts.

During a brief program prior to the meal, Hendrix applauded the lasting impact that society members’ generosity has on the future.

“As members of this society, you have shown yourselves to be forward-thinking philanthropists,” she said. “You have chosen to share a portion of your life’s work and accomplishments by making a planned gift to support Shepherd students and faculty.”

Hendrix also presented the 2022 President’s Award to Norm and Jeanie Secrist. This award recognizes exemplary service to Shepherd and the broader community.

Photo of people inducted into McMurran Society.

Members of the Joseph P. McMurran Society gathered in the atrium of Erma Ora Byrd Hall for the organization’s annual dinner reception.

Foundation president Christopher S. Colbert then welcomed ten new members into the Society. They included Tina Maria Morris, Austin J. Slater, Jr., Regina V. Jones, Dr. Larry Z. Daily, Christopher Janelle, Sherri Janelle, Melinda Merk, Stanley C. Marinoff, James R. (Bob) Fleenor, and Carolyn G. Fleenor.

New members who were unable to attend the event included Martin Baach, Elise Baach, Carmen Slater, D. Scott Roach, Linda Hottell Roach, Roxanne R. French, Dennis E. Frye, Peggy O. Booth, Paul S. Garrard, Donald M. Parsons, and Jacquelyn Parsons.

Following the program, guests heard Shepherd University music students Korinne Myers and Sianna King perform “Nocturnes, I. Nuages” by Claude Debussy.

Recognized as the first president of Shepherd University, Joseph McMurran set standards of academic excellence that inspired him to make personal financial gifts to keep the college operating. Through his dedication to Shepherd, McMurran began a tradition of philanthropy which is carried on today by Society members.

To learn more about establishing a planned gift through the Shepherd University Foundation, contact Monica Lingenfelter or Sherri Janelle, Shepherd University Foundation, P.O. Box 5000, Shepherdstown, WV, 25443-5000, 304-876-5397, or, or visit

— 30 —