Main Menu

Department of Music to present small ensembles recital April 22

ISSUED: 18 April 2014
MEDIA CONTACT: Valerie Owens

SHEPHERDSTOWN, WV — The Shepherd University Department of Music will present a concert featuring the best of its small ensembles Tuesday, April 22 at 8 p.m. in the Frank Center’s W.H. Shipley Recital Hall.

The concert will highlight percussion ensemble, guitar trio, a brass quintet, flute quartet, saxophone quartet, and a jazz combo ensemble performances.

Percussion ensemble members Nathan Biedzynski, Louise Campbell, Michael Kincaid, Melissa McKay, Ronald Rowlett, and Kayla Starr will perform “Improvisation for Frame Drums” featuring Middle Eastern techniques. The guitar trio of Ted Shusterman, Thomas Collins, and Andrew Oswinkle will perform “Baiao de Gude” by Paulo Bellinati. The brass quintet featuring Tyler Arnold and Alvaro Silva on trumpet, Jonathan Myers on horn, Rachel Bani on trombone, and Gregory Woodward on tuba will perform the “Quintet in B Minor” allegro moderato.

The flute quartet of Whitney Bloom, Hannah Geerlings, Katie Houle, and Melissa McKay will present the “Grand Quartet for 4 Flutes in C” Rondo Finale by Ernesto Kohler. The saxophone quartet featuring Ross Semler on soprano saxophone, Hansu Sung on alto saxophone, Justin Loizos on tenor saxophone, and Lucas Hogan on baritone saxophone will perform Introduction and Canon of “Saxophone Quartet” by Lukas Foss and “Fault Lines” by Perry Goldstein.

The guitar trio of Dakota Slay-Vincent, Patrick Harper, and Robert Tudor will perform “Trio fur drei Gitarren, Op. 12.” The jazz combo with Hansu Sung on alto saxophone, Alvaro Silva on trumpet, Kris Nigh on trombone, Dan Dunn on bass, Mary Granofsky on piano, and Sawyer Gaydon on drums will perform a rendition of “Black Orpheus” by Vince Guaraldi.

The recital is free and open to the public. For more information call 304-876-5555 or go to


— 30 —