Shepherd University Logo
Home | About | Undergraduate | Graduate | Prospective | Current | Athletics | Alumni | Faculty/Staff    

Shepherd University Foundation appoints six new directors to board of directors

ISSUED: 17 September 2012
MEDIA CONTACT: Valerie Owens
(Shepherd University Foundation appoints six new directors to board of directors)

Shepherdstown, WV--The Shepherd University Foundation welcomed six new members to its board of directors. Melinda Merk '91, Gina M. Miller '10, and Mary Elizabeth Oates were elected onto the board at the Foundation's annual meeting on Thursday, September 13. Dr. Heidi M. Hanrahan, assistant professor of English at Shepherd, was appointed as the organization's faculty representative recommended by Shepherd President Suzanne Shipley. J. David Rickard is the Alumni Association's appointed alumnus representative and Christopher M. Colbert '95, president of the Shepherd University Alumni Association, joined the organization as a director-at-large.

In addition to its new directors, the Foundation elected three new officers to its board. Former president Ramon A. Alvarez '62 assumed the role of vice president, while former treasurer Michael A. Smith '89 was elected president. Director Julia M. Connell '84 assumed role of treasurer, and Allen L. Lueck '67 will continue as the organization's secretary.

"Our new directors bring excellent business backgrounds and a fresh perspective to our board, while our newly elected officers display the strong leadership qualities necessary to continue growing our support," Smith said. "I'm excited to welcome all of them aboard and look forward to the continued success of the Shepherd University Foundation."

In welcoming its new directors, the Foundation also bid farewell to seven former board members. Dr. Jason S. Best, Deborah J. Dhayer '74, Scott Bradford-Doleman '95, Lynn E. Leatherman '92, Annette M. Murphy, Lisa K. Younis, and former Foundation president and vice president James M. Davis '59 received commemorative gifts along with grateful acknowledgement for their service.

"We are so appreciative to our outgoing directors for the sense of commitment and pride with which they served the Foundation and its creed of giving, gathering, guarding, and fostering goodwill," said Smith. "We truly wish them the best in their future endeavors."

For more information about the Shepherd University Foundation's new officers and directors, visit the organization's website by clicking on "Alumni and Friends" at


Current Press Releases

Click on the thumbnail to view a larger image.

New members of the Shepherd University Foundation pose with the organization's newly elected president, Michael A. Smith '89 (center). Pictured (l. to r.) are Mary Elizabeth (Liz) Oates, Heidi M. Hanrahan, PhD, Melinda Merk '91, Smith, Gina M. Miller '10, and J. David Rickard.

Shepherd University | P.O. Box 5000 | Shepherdstown, West Virginia | 25443-5000 | 304-876-5000 | 800-344-5231 | FAX 304-876-3101
Site Disclaimer | Site Maintained by