Shepherd University Logo
Home | About | Undergraduate | Graduate | Prospective | Current | Athletics | Alumni | Faculty/Staff    

Shepherd's graduate studies program honors faculty, students

ISSUED: 24 May 2011
MEDIA CONTACT: Valerie Owens
(Shepherd's graduate studies program honors faculty, students)

Shepherdstown, WV--Shepherd University's Division of Graduate Studies held its third annual banquet on Friday, May 13 in Erma Ora Byrd Hall, honoring two graduate students and one faculty member with distinguished graduate studies awards.

The honorees were Melanie Goldsborough, of Shepherdstown, Distinguished Graduate Student of Scholarship Award; Jessica Detrick, of Berkeley Springs, Distinguished Graduate Student of Professionalism Award; and Dr. Georgiann Toole, Distinguished Graduate Faculty Award.

Goldsborough, who earned a master of arts in curriculum and instruction, and Detrick, who earned a master of business administration, were selected from more than 200 graduate degree-seeking students.

The five finalists for the Distinguished Graduate Student of Scholarship Award were Goldsborough, Eric Morris, Patricia Lorenzen, Thanh Nguyen, and James Southern.

The five finalists for the Distinguished Graduate Student of Professionalism were Detrick, Bonnie Robinson, Jason Smith, Patricia Lorenzen, and James Southern.

Nominees were named from each of the five degree programs, including Master of Arts in Teaching, College Student Development and Administration, Master of Arts in Curriculum and Instruction, Masters of Business Administration, and Master of Music in Music Education and the awards were decided through an application process that was judged on pre-determined criteria and was reviewed by an external reviewer. Goldsborough and Detrick each received $300 awards, plaques, and their names placed on a permanent plaque.

Dr. Georgiann Toole, graduate coordinator for the Master of Arts in Teaching program, was selected from faculty members who were nominated from each of the five graduate studies programs. Nominees were reviewed by an external peer-reviewed panel from multiple disciplines to determine five finalists based on teaching, scholarship, and community service. The five finalists were Dr. Toole, Dr. John "Quincy" Adams, Dr. Sylvia Shurbutt, Dr. Mark McCoy, and Dr. Yuying "Joey" Xie. Dr. Toole received a personal plaque, her name placed on a permanent plaque, and a $500 professional development award.

Dr. Russell Porter, dean of graduate studies and continuing education, presided over the event. Dr. Richard Helldobler, vice president for academic affairs, introduced the evening's keynote speaker, Stephen Skinner, attorney at Skinner Law Firm and member of the Shepherd University Foundation Board of Directors.


Current Press Releases

Click on the thumbnail to view a larger image.

Pictured above (l. to r., front row) are Dr. Russell Porter, Stephen Skinner, Dr. Georgiann Toole, Dr. Richard Helldobler, Patricia Lorenzen, Dr. John "Quincy" Adams, and Dr. Yuying "Joey" Xie; (second row) Bonnie Robinson, Melanie Goldsborough, Jessica Detrick, and Dr. Scott Beard; and (third row) Dr. Thanh Nguyen, Jason Smith, Dr. Mark McCoy, Eric Morris, and James Southern.

Additional photos are available on our Flickr page

Shepherd University | P.O. Box 5000 | Shepherdstown, West Virginia | 25443-5000 | 304-876-5000 | 800-344-5231 | FAX 304-876-3101
Site Disclaimer | Site Maintained by