Home | About | Undergraduate | Graduate | Prospective | Current | Athletics | Alumni | Faculty/Staff    


Office of the President


From the President



Timeline of the Shipley Presidency




Suzanne Shipley
Fifteenth President

A native of Lubbock, Texas, Shipley became president of Shepherd University on June 29, 2007. She most recently served as vice president for academic affairs and dean of the faculty at College of Notre Dame of Maryland.


David L. Dunlop
Fourteenth President

Dunlop joined the Shepherd University family after an academic career at the University of Pittsburgh at Johnstown that spanned 20 years. He retired in June 2007.


Michael P. Riccards
Thirteenth President

A native of New Jersey, Riccards came to Shepherd after a presidency at St. Johns in New Mexico. He resigned in 1995 to assume the presidency of Fitchburg State College in Massachusetts.


James A. Butcher
Twelfth President

The Glenville native joined Shepherd's elementary education faculty in 1961; he was named president seven years later. President Emeritus Butcher still lives in Shepherdstown.


Oliver S. Ikenberry
Eleventh President

Born in Virginia and raised in Colorado, Ikenberry was appointed president at age 39. He retired in 1968.


W.H.S. White
Tenth President

A Lewis County native, White holds the record for the longest administration: 27 years. He retired in 1947 at age 65 and died a year later.


Thomas C. Miller
Ninth Principal

A Union Army veteran, he had extensive background in education having served as superintendent of schools in Fairmont, professor of education at West Virginia University, and state superintendent of schools.


John Gottlieb Knutti
Eighth Principal

Born in Switzerland, Knutti moved to Alpena, West Virginia, as a young boy and worked with his family to clear a farm from the heavy forest. A graduate of West Virginia University, he died at age 38 of typhoid fever.


E.F. Goodwin
Seventh Principal

Left the College in disgrace after his accusations of criminal activity against a female faculty member were proven false.


A.C. Kimler
Sixth Principal

A graduate of Franklin and Marshall College, he believed so strongly in strengthening Shepherd's ties with the South Branch Valley that he undertook several 100-mile trips on bicycle through the region. Dismissed by the Board of Regents in 1901, Kimler became superintendent of Ceredo Schools in Wayne County.


E. Wade Vale
Fifth Principal

A graduate of Dickinson College, he holds the College record for the shortest administration: nine months.


Asa B. Bush
Fourth Principal

A West Virginia University graduate, Bush was the College's assistant principal. He resigned to become principal of Coushatta School in Louisiana.


T.J. Woofter
Third Principal

A graduate of Fairmont Normal and Nashville Normal University, Woofter resigned to become principal of Eberton Institute in Georgia.


D.D. Pendleton
Second Principal

A Confederate veteran who served on the staff of General William Pendleton, he married the daughter of A.R. Boteler, one of the founders of Shepherd. Asked to resign in 1885, Pendleton died at age 44 of injuries received in a threshing machine accident on his farm in 1886.


Joseph McMurran
First Principal

A Hampden-Sydney College graduate and a Confederate veteran of the Stonewall Brigade, McMurran resigned in 1882 because of the legislature's lack of financial support to Shepherd. Principal McMurran occasionally paid for the College's expenses out of his own pocket. He became a partner in the drugstore firm of Baker and McMurran in Shepherdstown. He died in 1902.


Shepherd University | Office of the President | P.O. Box 3210 | Shepherdstown, West Virginia | 25443-3210
304-876-5107 | 800-344-5231