Shepherd University

Division of Student Affairs

office (304) 876-5214
fax (304) 876-5137

65th Annual
Student Recognition Day

April 16, 2013

This annual event recognizes outstanding student accomplishment in the fields of academics and leadership, as well as in contributions to the campus and community.

2013 Student Recognition Day

Lowe Family Award

 Awarded to
Ms. Emily Gilmore

Funded by the Lowe family of Shepherdstown, this award honors students based on outstanding service to the University as well as high academic achievements.  A tree is planted on campus each year in honor of the student recipient.


Awarded to
Mr. Timothy Leonard and Ms. Nicole Tashner

Dr. Oliver S. Ikenberry served as President of Shepherd College for 21 years, from 1947-1968.  These were years of expansion for all of American higher education and important formative years for Shepherd College as well.  The institution grew in academic stature and breadth of program offerings.  It expanded substantially in enrollment and in acreage that provides the spacious campus Shepherd enjoys today.  President and Mrs. Ikenberry were actively engaged with students, faculty, staff, and alumni and intimately involved with the community of Shepherdstown.  Ikenberry Hall was named in honor of President Ikenberry’s service to Shepherd.  This award is designated for one male and one female student for “exemplary human service to Shepherd University as evidenced by campus leadership, community service, and overall achievement.”



2013 Student Recognition Day

Scholastic Awards

School of Arts and Humanities       

School of Business and Social Sciences

School of Education and Professional Studies

School of Natural Sciences and Mathematics


Class Scholarship Awards

Who's Who Among Students in American Universities and Colleges

Recognition of Student Leadership Award

Lowe Family Award

Oliver S. Ikenberry Distinguished Human Services Award