Small Ensembles Recital Spring 2014

The Shepherd University Department of Music will present a concert featuring the best of the department's small ensembles on Tuesday, April 22nd, at 8:00 p.m. in the Frank Arts Center W. H. Shipley Recital Hall at Shepherd University. The evening will highlight performances of percussion ensemble, guitar trio, a brass quintet, flute quartet, saxophone quartet, and a jazz combo, among others. The Small Ensembles Recital is free and open to the public.

The program will open with Percussion Ensemble members Nathan Biedzynski, Louise Campbell, Michael Kincaid, Melissa McKay, Ronald Rowlett and Kayla Starr, performing "Improvisation for Frame drums" featuring Middle Eastern Techniques. Next, the guitar trio of Ted Shusterman, Thomas Collins and Andrew Oswinkle will perform "Baiao de Gude" by Paulo Bellinati, followed by the Allegro moderato from "Quintet in B minor" by Victor Ewald, performed by the Shepherd University Brass Quintet, featuring Tyler Arnold and Alvaro Silva on trumpet, Jonathan Myers on horn, Rachel Bani on trombone, and Gregory Woodward on tuba.

The Shepherd Flute Quartet of Whitney Bloom, Hannah Geerlings, Katie Houle, Melissa McKay, will present the Rondo Finale from "Grand Quartet for 4 Flutes in C" by Ernesto Kohler, and the Saxophone Quartet, featuring Ross Semler on soprano saxophone, Hansu Sung on alto saxophone, Justin Loizos on tenor saxophone, and Lucas Hogan on baritone saxophone, will perform Introduction and Canon of "Saxophone Quartet" by Lukas Foss, and "Fault Lines" by Perry Goldstein. The "Trio fur drei Gitarren, Op. 12" by Filippo Gragnani will be performed by the guitar trio of Dakota Slay-Vincent, Patrick Harper, and Robert Tudor. Closing out the program is a Jazz Combo rendition of "Black Orpheus" by Vince Guaraldi, featuring Hansu Sung on alto saxophone, Alvaro Silva on trumpet, Kris Nigh on trombone, Dan Dunn on bass, Mary Granofsky on piano; Sawyer Gaydon on drums.

For more information call 304-876-5555.