Classified Employee Council Minutes

Minutes
May 15, 2002

Present: Bonita Brooks, Brenda Feltner, Tim Haines, Joy Phillips, Paul Schwan, Pat Sherwood, Dan Starliper, Peggy Swinston-Rivera, Peg Swisher (alternate), Anna Mary Walsh, Patt Welsh (alternate) and Karl Wolf. Guests: Ken Harbaugh and Nancy Roesel.

Election of officers was then held with the following results: Tim Haines, chair; Joy Phillips, assistant chair; and Brenda Feltner, secretary. The meeting was then turned over to the new Council chair, Tim Haines.

It was M/S/P that the April 16, 2002, minutes be approved as distributed.

Advisory Council of Classified Employees
No report.

Board of Governors
Dan Starliper reported that the Shepherd College Board of Governors met via telephone on April 25, 2002, for the purpose of approving a 3% pay raise for classified, non-classified, and faculty, effective July 1, 2002. This will represent funding approximately 16% of the "gap" on the classified salary schedule. Dr. Dunlop has indicated that he will ask the Board's financial subcommittee to work on a long-range multi-year classified salary plan.

Dan also reported on the Board's May 2, 2002, meeting. This report is attached.

Staff Development
Nancy Roesel reported that the staff development money is almost depleted.

Scholarship Committee
Peg Swisher reported that this committee would be meeting on Monday. Six students have applied for scholarships, and thirty-three employees are now signed up for payroll deduction.

Buildings and Grounds
Ken Harbaugh reported that they have not met. The walkway behind Ikenberry has been repaired.

Safety Committee
No report.

Old Business
Dan Starliper reported that the 2002-2003 Holiday Schedule has been approved and is attached.

Results of the classified employees' elections are attached.

New Business
Tim Haines requested input for Council meeting dates and times for June and July. It was decided to meet on June 20 at 9 a.m. and on July 18 at 9 a.m. Recommendations for committee assignments should be sent to Tim. Any classified employee interested in serving on any committees, please contact Tim or any Council member.

Council members should be thinking about which administrators they would like to have attend this year's meetings, a possible meeting with our area legislators and their rival political candidates, and topics our Council would like for the state ACCE group to tackle, such as the 20-year ceiling on the annual increment pay.

There being no further business, it was M/S/P to adjourn the meeting at 9:55 a.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Brenda J. Feltner
Classified Employees' Council Secretary

Classified Employees Council Secretary
2002-03 CLASSIFIED EMPLOYEES COUNCIL

Board of Governors:
Dan Starliper 5299 dstarlip
ACCE:
Racquel Yerbury 5160 ryerbury
Category 1:
Steve Parrotte 5471 sparrott
Karl Wolf 5212 kwolf
Category 3:
Tim Haines 5465 thaines
Joy Phillips 5161 jphillip
Pat Sherwood 5161 psherwoo
Agnes Tabler 5360 atabler
Category 4:
Brenda Feltner 5220 bfeltner
Phyllis Taylor 5214 ptaylor
Johnette Jackson 5341 jjackson
Patt Welsh, alternate 5245 pwelsh
Category 5:
Peggy Swinston-Rivera 5421 pswinsto
Peg Swisher, alternate 5403 pswisher
Category 6:
Paul Schwan 5236 c/o sclem
David Cage, alternate 5236 c/o sclem
Category 7:
Bonita Brooks 5229
Geraldine Hammond 5236 c/o sclem
Paula Scott 5236 c/o sclem
Deneatta Williams 5131 c/o cshirley
Todd Grantham, alternate 5131 c/o cshirley


| Main Page |