Classified Employee Council Minutes

June 20, 2002

Present: Brenda Feltner, Tim Haines, Geraldine Hammond, Joy Phillips, Paul Schwan, Paula Scott, Dan Starliper, Peggy Swinston-Rivera, Peg Swisher (alternate), Agnes Tabler, Patt Welsh (alternate), and Deneatta Williams. Guest: Ken Harbaugh.

Tim Haines, chair, called the meeting to order.

It was M/S/P to approve the May 15, 2002, the April 25, 2002 (Recognition Day), and the April 24, 2002 (Special Council Meeting) minutes as distributed.

It was M/S/P that the April 16, 2002, minutes be approved as distributed.

Advisory Council of Classified Employees
Racquel Yerbury has resigned as our ACCE representative. ACCE is holding its June meeting today. Tim will be sending out a request to all classified employees to see if anyone is interested in being our ACCE representative.

Board of Governors
Dan Starliper reported on the June 13, 2002, Board of Governors meeting.
President's Report:
There was a general discussion regarding seventeen ideas circulated by the central office entitled "Strategies for H.E. Budget & Program Reviews."
Dr. Dunlop noted that the library addition was a little behind schedule and would officially open on a Saturday in September/October.
The BOG approved the following:
Administrative changes resulting in academic divisions becoming schools, six deans, and a VP of Enrollment Management.
Authorized Dr. Dunlop to move forward with developing a bond program to fund $4.5M in construction.
A $1,250,000 stadium facilities building.
A new West Woods parking lot for $875,000.
Other items:
Barbara Pichot was re-elected chair; Andrew Michael, vice chair; and Manny Arvon, secretary.
The meeting schedule for the coming year was not finalized.
There was a brief discussion regarding the five classified employees that graduated from Shepherd at the May commencement.

Staff Development
Dan Starliper reported that they did meet this week and that Nancy Roesel was re-elected chair of this committee.

Peg Swisher reported that the Scholarship Committee met on May 20, 2002, to determine scholarship awards. A total of eight students submitted applications for awards; one student did not meet the criteria. A total of $5,500 was awarded for the 2002-2003 year. Pending Council's approval, the following classified employees' children will receive scholarships: Amber Branch, Kevin Harbaugh, Akeem Holmes, Jason Horn, Sarah Phillips, Edward Shewbridge, and Sherry Shirley. It was M/S/P to approve these students for the scholarship awards.

Buildings and Grounds
No report.

No report.

Old Business
Tim is still working on filling Council committees. If you are interested in serving on a committee, please let him know (Ext. 5465).

New Business
Tim gave special recognition to Anna Mary Walsh for all her tireless efforts as Council chair for the last three years.

Tim will contact our area legislators to try and set up a meeting with them.

Dan Starliper brought up a concern that there is a real effort being made by the Central Office to not fund the classified employee pay matrix and to go to a merit pay system. He feels that this would not be in the best interest of classified employees. This should be a concern of ACCE.

Tim will send to ACCE his name as our representative until a new rep. is elected.

Tim will invite Dr. Dunlop to meet with us during one of our upcoming meetings.

It was announced that Paul Allen would be leaving Shepherd College. He will be greatly missed by the Classified Employees Council.

There being no further business, it was M/S/P to adjourn the meeting at 9:40 a.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Brenda J. Feltner
Classified Employees Council Secretary

| Main Page |