Main Menu

Educator Preparation Program Council

The Educator Preparation Program Council is the body that is responsible for teacher education at Shepherd University. The Educator Preparation Program Council (EPPC) is chaired by the director of teacher education and is composed of the specialization coordinators from each specialization, all members of the Department of Education, and two elected teacher candidates. In this way, the EPPC exemplifies how faculty from the Arts, Humanities, and Sciences share responsibility and authority with the faculty from education in determining what is important in teacher education. The EPPC, through bi-monthly meetings, administers, coordinates, evaluates, monitors, reviews, and revises the Teacher Education Program at Shepherd University. The EPPC has the responsibility to ensure that all specializations are conducted in a manner that is consistent with the stated philosophy, theme, and objectives of the teacher education program.


Dr. Karen Adams, Assistant Professor, Mathematics; Secondary Specialization Coordinator, Mathematics Education

Dr. Jared Androzzi, Assistant Professor, Physical Education, Secondary Specialization Coordinator, Physical Education

Mrs. Helen Baker, Field Placement Coordinator, Education

Dr. Denis Berenschot, Associate Professor, Spanish; Secondary Specialization Coordinator, Spanish Education

Dr. Dawne Burke, Professor, Education

Dr. Tauna Cole, Associate Professor, Education

Dr. Ruth Conley, Associate Professor, Biology; Secondary Specialization Coordinator, Biology, Chemistry, General Science Education

Dr. Kathleen Corpus, Associate Professor, Business Administration/Family & Consumer Science; Secondary Specialization Coordinator, Family & Consumer Science Education

Dr. David Gonzol, Professor, Music Education; Secondary Specialization Coordinator, Music Education

Dr. c. lynne hannah, Professor, Education

Dr. Dori Hargrove, Assistant Professor, Education; Specialization Coordinator, Elementary Education

Dr. Rhonda Hovatter, Associate Professor, Physical Education

Dr. LeAnn Johnson, Assistant Professor, Education, Director of Teacher Education, Chair of the Professional Education Unit Council

Dr. Douglas Kennard, Professor, Education

Ms. Terresa Kepner, Visiting Assistant Professor, Early Education; Specialization Coordinator, Early Elementary Education

Mr. David Modler, Assistant Professor, Art; Secondary Specialization Coordinator, Art Education

Dr. Belinda Mitchell, Assistant Professor, Education; Coordinator Special Education: Multi-categorical Program

Dr. Elvira Sanatullova-Allison, Acting Dean and Department Chair, Education

Ms. Linda Sell, Director of Assessment & Accountability, Education

Dr. Georgiann Toole, Associate Professor, Education; Specialization Coordinator, Social Studies; Coordinator of Master of Arts in Teaching, Coordinator Master of Arts in Curriculum and Instruction, Unit Administrator for Tk20

Dr. James B. Tuttle, Associate Professor, Education, Secondary Specialization Coordinator, English Education


The Teacher Education Program relies on capable and committed part-time faculty members to supplement the work of the full-time faculty. Adjunct faculty are made aware of the teacher education program’s philosophy and theme and its implications for teaching and supervision. This is to ensure that our program objectives are consistently addressed in all phases of the teacher education experience at Shepherd University.


Charity Farrow, Elementary Education Representative

Jillian Barr, Secondary Education Representative