Main Menu

English and Modern Languages Home

EML Homepage Image 1Here’s how students get to know us and we get to know them:

Are you a prospective student?

 Alumni Spotlight:  Erin Nissley (2001)

Department News

Shepherd University’s Stammtisch group will be hosting an Abendbrot (i.e., evening meal) on Monday, August 20th, at 5:00 p.m. The gathering will be at the home of Daan Vreugdenhil here in Shepherdstown. Attendees are asked to contribute a salad, side dish, or dessert. All speakers of German, regardless of level of competency (i.e., beginners through native speakers), are welcome. Contact Dr. Eva Suárez ( for more information and to get the actual address.

The Rude Mechanicals Medieval and Renaissance Players present Euripides’ ancient Greek tragedy Hecuba, an ancient Greek play about the horrifying toll war takes on victor and victim alike, as relevant today as it was 2,500 years ago. Performances are scheduled for Friday, July 6th, at 8:00 p.m.; Saturday, July 7th, at 8:00 p.m.; and Sunday, July 8th, at 3:00 p.m. All performances will be in Reynolds Hall, and admission is free for Shepherd University students, faculty, and staff; $5 for the general public; and $2 for all other students. For more information, contact Dr. Betty Ellzey (304 876-5208,