Home | About | Undergraduate | Graduate | Prospective | Current | Athletics | Alumni | Faculty/Staff    


  Meetings Documents,
    Information, and Proposals

  Officers, Chairs, and
    Committee Representative

  Curriculum and Instruction
  General Studies
  Institutional Review Board
  Professional Development
  Scholarship and Awards

  Constitution of
    Shepherd University
  Senate Bylaws
  Faculty Handbook

  ACF Web Site
  ACF Reports


The McMurran Scholar Award

The McMurran Scholar Award, the highest academic honor granted by Shepherd University, was conceived in 1961 by Professor Kenneth Riley who served on the first Honors Committee along with Librarian John Maine and Dean of Students O.L. Harry. McMurran Scholars must complete a minimum of 92 semester hours, maintain at least a 3.86 grade point average, complete two consecutive semesters of study at Shepherd, and be nominated by at least three faculty members. Nominees must then be approved by the faculty at large.

The McMurran Convocation "Last Lecture"

McMurran Scholars Website



Shepherd University | P.O. Box 5000 | Shepherdstown, West Virginia | 25443-5000 | 304-876-5000 | 800-344-5231