Home | Board Members | Meeting Schedule | Request for Comments | Bylaws | Policies | Minutes    

Dr. Suzanne Shipley named 15th president of Shepherd University

Shepherdstown, WV--The Shepherd University Board of Governors today announced that Shepherd's next president will be Dr. Suzanne Shipley, currently vice president for academic affairs and dean of faculty at the College of Notre Dame of Maryland. She will succeed Dr. David L. Dunlop, who is retiring after serving as president for 11 years. The announcement was made following a vote by the West Virginia Higher Education Policy Commission to confirm the Board of Governors' appointment.

John Sherwood, chair of the Board of Governors and the Presidential Search Committee, expressed his pleasure at the outcome of the six-month search. "Dr. Shipley was the overwhelming favorite of every single constituent group," said Sherwood. "We are delighted that she has accepted our invitation to lead Shepherd into the future."

"It is an honor to be chosen president of Shepherd University," said Shipley. "I look forward to building on the many accomplishments of President Dunlop. Shepherd University fulfills a vital role as West Virginia's highly competitive public liberal arts university." [MORE]

Presidential Search Archive

Shepherd University | P.O. Box 3210 | Shepherdstown, West Virginia | 25443-3210 | 304-876-5000 | 800-344-5231 | FAX 304-876-3101
Site Disclaimer | Site Maintained by